How to stop YouTube channels from appearing in your feed

Some YouTube channels just don’t deserve your attention. If you don’t like a YouTube channel, here’s how to block it from seeing it again.

There are YouTube channels you never want to see. Maybe they produce low-quality content, clickbait, or the creator’s opinions don’t match yours. Either way, you shouldn’t let channels you don’t want to fill your YouTube feed.

We’ll show you how to block YouTube channels on any device.

USE VIDEO OF THE DAY

How to Block a YouTube Channel

Strictly speaking, as a viewer, you cannot “block” a YouTube channel in the common Internet sense of the term. You can simply prevent it from appearing in your recommendations and on your feed. However, this does not prevent you from seeing the string elsewhere, such as in search results or on external sites.

When you block a YouTube channel, it applies at the account level to improve your YouTube recommendations. This means that you can block a channel on your computer, for example, and it will be automatically blocked on your mobile.

No one else will know that you have blocked a channel. This includes the channel owner: they don’t receive any notifications and won’t show up anywhere on your channel (if you have one) or in their stats.

To block a YouTube channel, follow the instructions below. These apply to both desktop computers and the YouTube mobile app.

  1. On the YouTube homepage, find a video from a channel you want to block.
  2. If you are on a computer, hover the video. You don’t need to do this on mobile.
  3. Select the three vertical dots.
  4. Select Do not recommend the chain.
  5. If you made a mistake, select to cancel.

How to Unblock a YouTube Channel

Unfortunately, unless you choose to cancel immediately after blocking a channel, you cannot unblock it individually. It’s all or nothing. You also cannot see the list of channels you have blocked.

So, to completely unblock all channels:

  1. Go to your Google My Activity page.
  2. In the left menu, click Other Google activity.
  3. Under YouTube Comments “Not Interested”Click on Wipe off.
  4. Click on Wipe off again to confirm.

Focus on the YouTube channels you enjoy

YouTube’s recommendation algorithm is very correct, but it’s also wrong. Sometimes you can watch a video from a channel and find yourself inundated with endless recommendations. What if you didn’t like it? Cut the noise, block the channel and improve your YouTube experience tenfold.

Raymond T. Helms